Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Nubia
New Contributor

My mum

Hi,

I am new to this.

I have been in emotional pain for a while now, so I thought I should get support.

I am in Sydney and my family is in Italy, I haven’t been able to see my family for 4 years. 
My mum is sick now, she has cancer for the second time in less than 10 years. 
She has history of cannabis and alcohol abuse and we don’t have a great relationship, but she is sick now and in the past years she developed mental health issues as well. 
I am having hard time and I am trying my best to stay strong and keep on going with my life and I am here in Australia, building my life my career while she is slowly dying and my 5 siblings are in pain and I can see fear in their eyes. 
I keep asking my self:

Why is this happening?

What do I do? 
And this is not fair 😞.

In my job I help children to have a better life, I work in child protection!

But it seems that I can not help my self this time.

3 REPLIES 3
tyme
Community Lead

Re: My mum

Good Evening @Nubia ,

Thank you for posting. I just wanted you to know that you are not alone. I have read your post, I'm listening and I'm hearing how difficult it is for you right now.

I hope other members will be able to provide insight and share their experiences with you.

In life, sometimes we just don't have all the answers. But at this time, YOU are the important one. Please know you are not alone. I am here, sitting beside you and listening.

Hang in there. I look forward to hearing from you, tyme

hanami
Senior Contributor

Hi @Nubia