Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

RPatty
New Contributor

Depressed Girlfriend is pushing me away severely

Hi, im not very good at these. My girlfriend of two years has always struggled with severe anxiety and depression. She stopped taking medication for her depressive episodes before i met her, however this recent episode appears to be her worst, as in this time, she has almost completely pushed me away. For the past two years things have been wonderful, we have been in love, she was always super mushy and affectionate towards me, and we had plans for a future together. This past spring we had to take a break however due to our families, but we recovered and were happier than ever, finding new confidence in ourselves and eachother. However almost a month ago her episode began. She began to slowly push me out, and while her previous episodes had never lasted long, i tried to just be there for her, console her, and make sure she knew i loved her with my everything. She wasnt getting better, but she would still talk to me, and loved us. However i made a mistake of taking the depression personally, and it upset her greatly. Due to this, this past weekend she has turned severely cold on me. She attempted to break up with me one evening while calling me, but i told her she was being self destructive, to which she seemed to realize she was,and assured her that if she still wanted the breakup when she was no longer depressed, i would go. She then told me that the relationship was putting pressure on her, and that she was no longer giving me the love and affection that she wanted to, and that the stress of it was hurting her, and she wanted to heal in her own right. I understood this and offered her sp