Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Artvandalay
Contributor

BPD

Hi All,

I am new to this but I am trying to do what I can to keep my own senity and after reading a few post that made me feel better about my own situation, thought I would share also. I live with my partner of 3 years who has recently been diagnosed with BPD after around 20 years of being told she has depression. We also have her 6 year old with us 50% of the time. My partner is actively trying to seek help for the BPD with regular appointments to the GP, Pyschologist and Pyschiatrist and hopefully soon starting a DBT program. I myself have a history of anxiety and depression and are seeing a Pyschologist to try and help me navigate through this difficult time, although I don't feel I am getting anything from the sessions I have had to date which is what has brought me here. I feel at a loss to know how to live my domestic life with my partner. If BPD was not a part of our relationship I would feel that I was in an emotionally abusive relationship. In which case I would stand up for myself when I thought something wasn't right. With the BPD I don't know what part of the personality is due to that and what may just be her not being very nice, so I let everything slide putting it down to the BPD. She has requested that I talk to her about how I'm feeling but if I do that makes her feel bad and worried that I will leave her or that I shouldn't have to "deal with this". Although we both have supportive families I am not comfortable talking to them about my feelings in depth. This leaves me to try and process everything that is going on, on my own. My head is a mess and my copping stratergy has been to drink so much that I don't remember going to